Pencil & Paper, Do You Remember?

September 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

A sad truth or an unnecessary skill set?

Yesterday I found myself, without a personal electronic device, needing to record a lot of information. I grabbed a pen and began to scribble notes at a vigorous pace trying to catch all of the content flowing in my direction. I noticed 4 obvious changes dating back to who knows when?

1. My penmanship has turned to chicken scratch

2. I couldn’t retain all of the information I was given and likely because…

3. I can’t write as fast as I can type

4. My hand began to cramp after about 15 minutes, something I don’t experience typing for the same amount of time- probably due to the imbalance of tension caused by holding a pen with only two fingers.

Am I crazy to think this is odd? Should I be sad I can no longer write quickly and at length like a college student on ritalin? Am I wasting precious time concerning myself over something so benign?

PS- Indiana grade schools are no longer teaching cursive. What does that say for the next generation of typers?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pencil & Paper, Do You Remember? at abby's road.

meta

