Ikea, I Expected More From You

August 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

Have you seen the new Ikea catalog? I always look forward to the new edition and was really excited to find it in my mailbox this week. So much so that I took it to the gym with me that day and lazily biked at a snails speed  in an effort to fully immerse myself into the Swedish way of home decor.

My findings: boring! In addition to neglecting my exercise duties for the day, I volunteered an hour of my life to a very boring cause. I’m no novice when it comes to this Swedish phenomenon, I’ve been a regular shopper for years and I can tell that they have had outstanding catalog displays in the past. Their team does wonders taking a series of ordinary objects with funny names and arranging them in such a way that really creates an experience. I’ve found myself inspired by Ikea on many occasions. But this new catalog is not one of them.

It’s understood that there will always be returning products. The Ektrop sofa isn’t going anywhere but flipping through this catalog I found little new or exciting. Rather than fresh ideas and displays, what was evident was a new approach. Reduced prices, a focus on small spaces, and an effort to go digital were all clearly there. The catalog is now, in addition to being a physical resource, a digital one with an iPhone app, an iPad version, and soon to be available on iTunes(!?) for download. Okay, I get. Ikea has caught on to the recessed consumer, the small home owner, and the always connect internet user which means their marketing dollars and research are working hard for them. But where is the wow factor?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ikea, I Expected More From You at abby's road.

meta

