An Education (Not the Movie)

April 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’ve been thinking about higher education a lot lately. This “Education Bubble” article has had my gears going for a few days. Check it out, it’s worth the read. That being said…

I grew up knowing I was going to go to college, and I had the aptitude to be successful there which was great. When I think back to high school I specifically remember discussing college options, identifying “good fit” schools, “safety” schools, and “reach” schools for myself. Oh the opportunities! My public high school had an easy job when it came to students like myself because it pushed tranditional, community and technical colleges on everyone with ears.

But what happens to the kids that never flourished in an academic setting? Knowing and still being in contact with a number of them (thank you Facebook), I see many of them are all still in our home town, they gave community college a go but it never took. And today the majority of them are working entry level service jobs, and many of which have an unplanned child or two. That’s great if they are happy. But what if they’re not?

What I recognize now that I didn’t then, because I never had to,  is that college isn’t for everyone. And what’s disconcerting about this is that the others- the non-college goers, were presented with little to no alternatives. If you aren’t cut out to be a manual laborer or military enlistee- what’s left? Are non-college students destined to travel down a misguided path which teaches them it should start with an education they are unsuited for? Why aren’t our school system “selling” more options to our students?

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Education (Not the Movie) at abby's road.

meta

