Snowed In Saturday

November 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

This past Saturday came with a disgusting amount of snow. It was wet and sloppy and came down for hours. But I made the most of it, I spiked my coffee and spent the day cooking and watching my Netflix. First I made this butternut squash and coconut soup with shrimp. It was delicious and flavorful. I added tofu to the recipe.

After lunch I wanted to bake something. My southern sister offered up this recipe for beer bread. It was so simple and easy, I want to make beer bread everyday!

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 (12oz) beer

Mix the dry ingredients, slowly add in the beer. Bake at 375 for 45 minutes. I added some fresh rosemary and thyme as well.

And then, as if I hadn’t spent enough time in the kitchen, I made another stuffing recipe. Of the stuffing recipes I’ve made thus far, this fennel, pine nut and roasted lemon one is my favorite. I used half white and half pumpernickel bread which was a nice change of pace. If I chose to make it for Thanksgiving I will reduce the quantity of lemon by half, the citrus may be a bit adventurous for some of my fam.

This is the before picture and unfortunately I don’t have an after. I got distracted when the door bell rang and before I knew it half the dish was gone.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Snowed In Saturday at abby's road.

meta

