An Anthropomorphic Athropologie

November 5, 2010 § Leave a comment

I sat myself down in front of a pile of mail and a bowl of cereal this morning, I was tired but came to life when I found the November Anthropologie catalog in the mix. I knew it was early but as I browsed the catalog I thought my eyes were deceiving me. Is that a real llama ? Wait, is this an illustration or a bed frame?  Is that candelabra made up of a pile of animals?

Yes to the llama. No to the bed frame. And yes to the animal pile. I know I’ve gushed over this company before and I know I’ve praised its catalogs in the past, but this is love.

I can’t think of any other items I get in the mail, or any other retailers that inspire me  the way Anthropology does. Simple or complex, whimsical or rustic, their store displays and monthly catalogs spark every creative fiber in my being. I walk away from all of my Anthropologie experiences wanting to sew something, rearrange something, and throw my budget out the window for new home furnishings.

Suffice it to say this catalog lit a fire under my butt today. Earlier this week I read this post from Lovely Package about the creation of Penhaligon’s new Christmas gift collection. I loved how much thought and attention when into the detail of the packages design and I loved the anthromorphic theme, it creates a feeling of wonderment normally reserved for children’s books, Walt Disney and Anthropologie!

I also love these knitted lamp shades (pictured above) and the fact that this cat is wearing a vest.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Anthropomorphic Athropologie at abby's road.

meta

