For You, Almost Free!

October 14, 2010 § Leave a comment

Why do we flock to free stuff?

During Clinique Bonus time, I would have people come up and buy 1 regular item plus (5) $0.99 pencil sharpeners to reach the $21.50 purchase requirement. All to get a plastic makeup bag full of samples, which are worth next to nothing. And based on the colors and type of skin care products included the customer will likely only use a fractions of the samples anyway. Ridiculous.

I find myself knowing better and falling for the same trick today. Minnesota Public Radio has started their membership drive and I am joining. I have been telling myself I would join for 2 years now and it’s coming true this week. With a monthly donation of $5.00 I can get a reusable tote or one of a number of CDs. For $7.00 a month I can get a subscription to Minnesota Monthly magazine. And for $10.00 a month I can get a coffee mug, or one of a number of books, or one of a number of more popular CDs. And so on and so forth.

I don’t need any of these things, yet I can’t decide which amount to donate because of the gift options available. Why has society geared me to think I need to be rewarded for good behavior? Why can’t I select the “Contribute Without a Gift” option and move on?!?

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading For You, Almost Free! at abby's road.

meta

