The Christmas Bug Bites Early

October 13, 2010 § Leave a comment

I’ve caught the Christmas spirit. It’s too early, I know! I haven’t even picked a Halloween costume, yet the desire to watch A Christmas Story resurfaced the other day (sigh). I blame the department stores, which began infesting the home section with ornaments weeks ago.

But it’s not all bad, this Christmas spirit thing. It’s comforting. It reminds me of food and family, of heavy sweaters, twinkly lights and bread pudding. I found this recipe for butterscotch, walnut and coffee bread pudding today that is making me drool. There are so few ingredients that I am confident I could whip it out for a Thursday night dinner with minimal prep time. I am also confident I could eat the whole thing when no one is looking.

Which reminds me, I must speak my Southern sister’s praises, it was maybe 2 years ago she hosted Christmas and overwhelmed everyone’s taste-buds with this Mark Bittman recipe for short ribs with coffee and chilies. It was fantastic! It had to be if I am still talking about. I never knew short ribs could be so wonderful and tender. Wow I’m hungry.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Christmas Bug Bites Early at abby's road.

meta

