Beer, She Is A Beautiful Thing

October 13, 2010 § Leave a comment

I don’t need a humorous commercial or racy magazine ad to tell me to drink {insert brand here} beer. I like it enough that I am going to drink it anyway. And I’ve been drinking it long enough to know what kinds I like and what kinds I don’t. However, I gravitate to the ads anyway.

I watch the Superbowl for the commercials and like everyone else who does the same, I know the beer commercials are always the funniest. Big bucks and lots of man hours are put into selling major domestic beer labels and as a result the ads are usually quotable crowd pleasers. I think we were all thankful when the Bud-Weis-Er frogs faded off the scene but we remember them which means the campaign was affective on some level.

New to hit your television screen is this Stella Artois commercial. It won’t be as iconic as talking frogs but it’s worth the watch. I actually replayed it a couple of times to catch some of the more subtle details of this guy’s sweet bachelor pad. This 1960’s-inspired ad was directed by Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola, not surprised? Me either.

Enlisting two ostensibly ‘indie’ directors figures into the brand’s new swanky sophisticate target market. Stella Artois and Beck’s at A-B InBev, describes the target demographic as “unisex” consumers who are well-educated, have slightly higher income and value ambition. Really? Value ambition? How do you measure such a thing?

What’s ambitious, in my mind, is the Anderson-Coppola power-couple. These off the radar, millionaire, cult directors have teamed up to create a commercial. This couldn’t be more on the radar. But they make a beautiful commercial for beer, which as the commercial suggests, is a beautiful thing.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Beer, She Is A Beautiful Thing at abby's road.

meta

