Wow, You Look Tired!

September 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

I look like crap today. Fatigued and disheveled are me. And I have coworkers who are kind enough to confirm, “Wow you look tired!” which of course is the only polite way of saying a person looks like $#!+.

Why, you ask, do I look so tired? Because I was shooting my mouth off on Monday about our nations obsession with soda pop. I can speak freely about how gross and unhealthy soda is because I didn’t grow up with it and have never had the desire to become a religious consumer of the product.

And as a result of this mouth shooting, I was called out on my coffee consumption. I won’t deny that a fraction of my paycheck goes to every coffee shop in the metro area, and I will be the first to admit that a whole pot sounds like the perfect volume for breakfast. Yes, I do love coffee. Yes, it is my best friend. Yes, I do drink it all the time.

Or I should say I did drink it all the time! That stopped on Monday when I accepted the challenge to quit. The competition will go on until someone fails. Until the temptation for the bitter sweet taste of coffee becomes too much for me to go without. Or until the soda drinker caves.

Now… day 3! I am cranky and tired, running on empty, feeling the pains of withdrawal, and apparently looking the part. I miss coffee, our relationship was more than caffeine. I love coffee for the experience of having a cup of something warm wake you up in the morning. I love sitting in cafes and drinking endless cups of coffee and watching the day waste away. I love the smell of coffee and the way it takes over your kitchen. I love stopping for a to-go cup at the start of a road trip. I love the endless number of ways you can make one ingredient taste so different, unique, and wonderful. I love how well it photographs!

This is a true test of self control. Let the count down begin!

I look like crap today. Fatigued and disheveled are me. And I have coworkers who are kind enough to confirm, “Wow you look tired!” which of course is the only polite way of saying a person looks like $#!+.
Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wow, You Look Tired! at abby's road.

meta

