The New Nest!

July 19, 2010 § Leave a comment

A month later… I am finally posting pictures of my new place! The photography is shotty, I know, but everything I own is in it so you get the idea. It’s still a bit empty which I appreciate, I’ve always admired a utilitarian approach to living. The pictures are pretty self explanitory but I did want to point out a few things…

You will notice some of the handles on the kitchen cabinetry are missing. It’s my responsibility to put those on, and without pilot holes, my antique hand drill makes this project very slooooow.

And I am happy to report that my herbs are thriving in their new environment! They love all 12 of the windows in this apartment and drink water like it’s going out of style.

And I am overwhelmed with visions and ideas for decorating and making this space my own. I have had to stop myself from rushing out and purchasing everything I believe it lacks. I have been trying to move away from my current style- “Early American Garage Sale” but the execution and style of the apartment has to evolve over time, hopefully as I get a better grasp of what I want.

PS- I originally titled this post, “The New Digs!” but wasn’t satisfied with the way it rolled off the tongue. Eventually I settled on nest after pulling up these alternatives in an online thesaurus:

abode, address, apartment, asylum, boarding house, bungalow, cabin, castle, cave*, co-op, commorancy, condo, condominium, cottage, crash pad, diggings, digs, domicile, dormitory, dump*, dwelling, farm, fireside, flat, habitation, hangout, haunt, hearth, hideout, hole in the wall, home plate, homestead, hospital, house, hut, joint*, living quarters, manor, mansion, nest*, orphanage, pad, palace, parking place, place, residence, resort, roof*, rooming house, roost, shanty, shelter, trailer, turf, villa, where the hat is

I’ve bolded the words I found most entertaining!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The New Nest! at abby's road.

meta

