Quick & Easy Rhubarb Ginger Jam

May 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

I was looking for something easy and quick to do with all of my rhubarb this weekend, the solution: JAM! I read a number of different recipes and knew I didn’t want to mess with unflavored gelatin, bonding agents, or preservatives. And I don’t have a pressure cooker so a mass canning project was out. I added and subtracted from the recipes I liked to make the following:

1 lb of chopped rhubarb

2-3 tablespoons of orange juice

3 tablespoons of crystallized ginger

1 squirt of spiced ginger paste

3/4 cup of sugar

Mix and simmer until mushy and delicious. Stir Frequently. Let cool to room temperature. Store in refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.

The jam turned out great! I recommend adding some red food coloring if your rhubarb is primarily green. The pink + green mush made a less desirable brown color. I always gravitate towards ginger and lemon grass flavors but do consider other herbs and pairings, I saw a lot of recipes involving lavender, plums, carrots, and vanilla.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quick & Easy Rhubarb Ginger Jam at abby's road.

meta

