Oh My, Mint Juleps!

April 30, 2010 § 1 Comment

Today marked the beginning of the 2010 Kentucky Derby… which means nothing to me. Images of Julia Roberts getting her shoes cleaned and the reminder that my wardrobe is lacking hats, is all that comes to mind.

Keeping in southern style, I do feel the need to partake in some festivities which is why I will be enjoying The Derby’s official beverage, the Mint Julep today around 5:01pm.

If you’re at the races today, have a $1000 bill lying around, and happen to be one of the first 73 people to ask, you can sip and savor the glamour and glitz of the Kentucky Derby with the ultimate luxury – the Woodford Reserve $1,000 Mint Julep. In the past, this budget busting beverage has been served in a gold cup and slurped through a silver straw. But for the lucky 73 this years cup, a Tiffany & Co. creation, looks to be of shiny silver.

I’m sure the cup is glorious, but I am more concerned with the cocktail. The major elements in this beverage include:

  • Southern Whiskey or Bourbon
  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Mint

Where the recipes seem to vary includes quantity, variety of mint, color (due to alcohol choice), and garnishes. I always like snacks with my drinks so garnishes are important. Suggested treats include sprigs of lavender, slices of lemon and orange, ginger, and Maraschino cherries. I also found a number of recipes of peach, blackberry, and other fruit juleps. Yumm!

How are you making your mint julep today?

{photo}

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Oh My, Mint Juleps!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oh My, Mint Juleps! at abby's road.

meta

