Summer Camp

January 26, 2010 § Leave a comment

My local newspaper has an advertisement encouraging organizations to submit their summer camp information for 2010. This simple ad has made for a very nostalgic day.

Growing up I found myself at Girl Scout camp, bible camp, tennis camp, dance camp, and probably more but for whatever reason all of my fondest summer camp memories come from movies.

Those coming of age, co-ed, summer camp comedies really seem to have made an impression on me…  Heavyweights, Camp Nowhere, The Parent Trap (1961), Kamp Krusty (The Simpsons), Camp Chippewa (Addams Family Values), and It Takes Two among others.

Perhaps it’s a sign my parents should have reduced my television consumption and sent me to more summer camps!?

Side note: I have never actually been camping! I’ve never collected fire wood, put up a tent, found myself without electricity, or had to pee outdoors. I hope this isn’t an indication that the Girl Scouts have failed me.

Do you have any camp memories worth sharing?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Summer Camp at abby's road.

meta

