An Asian Camelot

January 22, 2010 § Leave a comment

Dinner & a movie this week was a bit of a shit show…

We watched Monty Python and the Holy Grail, and keeping in theme I had decided on a period appropriate menu of beef stew, cabbage salad, and custard pie.

But I was completely uninspired by all of the beef stew recipes I had found. They were all basically a variation on vegetable soup- blahhhhhhhh. So I elected to make Korean Beef Stew.

And then without really thinking, I selected a spicy cabbage salad recipe because I thought it would work well with the stew.

Both the salad and the stew were spicy… too spicy actually. My poor guests’ mouths were ablaze. I didn’t mind it but I drink hot sauce like water. Something creamy and bland- like custard pie was a nice pallet tamer, but have you ever had custard pie!?!

Eww. To each their own, but I just couldn’t wrap my head around the idea of my dessert tasting like an egg bake. Not to mention the pairing of this pie with Asian style dishes.

Not one of proudest culinary expeditions.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Asian Camelot at abby's road.

meta

