The Ever Inspiring Roald Dahl

November 24, 2009 § Leave a comment

Perhaps it is the holiday spirit or just warm childhood memories, but I would like to address the wonder that is Roald Dahl. His name just seems to be in the air lately.

My original inspiration for this post has to do with the soon to be released Fantastic Mr. Fox movie, directed by Wes Anderson. I love Wes Anderson films, they seem to be overly analytical- much like myself. But upon further investigation, I came to the realization that Mr. Dahl has been an inspiration not just for Wes Anderson but for a wealth of people. In fact, many of his stories have been turned into movies. For example; Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, James and the Giant Peach, Matilda, The Witches, and The Twits.

And now today, I was paroozing through the Apartment Therapy site when I came across a post on Roald Dahl’s personal style. This only further proves my point- the man was and still is an inspiration. I cannot vouch for his personal style, but i find his literature is whimsical and captivating. I think it should be a part of every young person’s development.

If you have not yet picked up one of his books, I recommend The BFG (Big Friendly Giant). It was my favorite as a kid.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Ever Inspiring Roald Dahl at abby's road.

meta

