A Question of Youth

November 2, 2009 § Leave a comment

cell phones

How young is too young? I read an article in the newspaper a couple weeks back asking the question; what is a good age to have a cell phone? And now I just saw a recent CNN article asking a similar question; social networks and kids- how young is too young?

I remember battling my parents over the appropriate age to wear makeup, to date, etc., etc., etc., but never did my requests extend to modern technology. It’s a sign of the times and I believe an unavoidable matter.

These simple questions are hitting on a multitude of already debatable, hot button issues- like censorship and internet content, domestic values, and safety.

I asked a friend of mine, a 3rd grade teacher, what an appropriate age for a cell phone was. She told me that none of the children in her classroom had them but many carried their parent’s phones during field trips or extra curricular events. That makes sense, it sounds appropriate, right!? Keep in mind 3rd graders are between the ages of 8 and 9.

This brings me back to my last post- are social networks here to stay? Assuming they are, when will your children gain access to them?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Question of Youth at abby's road.

meta

